Music Binging

I guess WordPress and/or Facebook are going to be like journals for me from now on, because I don’t have a long enough attention span to actually write a journal, and well, I really don’t give a [honk] anymore. Tonight’s entry is:

I seem to associate almost every year, or at least a season of that year, with a particular music artist, and usually an album. For some reason I just listen compulsively to almost nothing but the same artist/album for a sustained period of time. Let’s see if I can remember them, and if you can notice any trends.

ca 1994 -1996 – Christian music, Toto discography and the Top Gun Soundtrack, haha
somewhere around here – recording oldies on tape from the radio (I’m officially doubly old school)
~1997 – Alanis Morisette – Jagged Little Pill
~1998 Third Eye Blind – Third Eye Blind
<begin Led Zeppelin>
2000 – Incubus – Make Yourself/Blink 182 – Enema of the State
2001 – Incubus – Make Yourself/Blink 182 – Enema of the State/System of a Down – Toxicity (yep, I was hardcore. Not)
2002 – 2007 ??? Since I think I temporarily stopped binging during this time, here are a few dominant ones – Beatles, Sublime, Bone Thugs, Nirvana, and I seem to remember a heavy CCR phase ca. 2006.
<resume binging>
2008 – MGMT – Oracular Spectacular (winter) System of a Down – Hypnotize/Mesmerize (summer)
2009 – Two Gallants?
2010 – MGMT – Congratulations
2011 – Yeasayer – Odd Blood
2013 – Lana Del Rey – Born to Die

Rock on! (to Toto, if you’re cool like me)

Leave a Reply

